Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull – Climbing Gear Review

haglofs6024172GV_SS14_RocLitePull

The classic anorak/smock top seemed to have gone out of fashion but recently one or two companies have brought a modern day version back into their range, obviously recognising the benefits of many of their features. One such company is Haglöfs with the Roc Lite Pull…

Performance ****

Durability ****

Value ****

Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull - great for moving fast in miserable weather!
Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull – great for moving fast in miserable weather!

A hardshell jacket is generally not the most favoured piece of clothing in my wardrobe. Instead, I see it as something of a necessary evil. If I do have to wear one then I like it to be light and simple. When I saw that Haglöfs were producing what they called “The lightest shell jacket in our Mountain concept” I was interested enough to take a look. The fact that it was a smock added extra interest.

Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull - on the Monch Switzerland
Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull – on the Monch Switzerland

So, the Roc Lite Pull is a fully featured 3 layer hardshell (or waterproof as they used to call them in the old days!) constructed using 3 layer 40D Gore-Tex® Pro which is light whilst still being fairly durable. It comes with a host of technical features which Haglöfs list as:

 

  • Three-way adjustable climbing helmet compatible hood with foam and wire reinforced peak
  • No shoulder, side and inner sleeve seams for enhanced durability and to avoid chafing
  • Water resistant zippers throughout
  • Half-length front zip
  • Spacious horizontal slanted chest pocket with built-in bellow function for extra space
  • Extra sleek inner placket with integrated rain channel
  • Articulated sleeves
  • Velcro adjustable cuff with pre-folded gusset
  • Integrated single hand hem drawcord
  • Dropped rear hem
  • Rear hanging loop

At around 375g for a size Large it is pretty light for a 3 layer hard shell but not the lightest on the market either.

 

What have I used it for?

I have used the Roc Lite Pull over the last couple of months for trail running, rock climbing, walking and technical alpine climbs in some very nasty weather. I have used it in the UK and in the European Alps. In short it works well in all of these applications.

Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull - light enough and tough enough for tecjnical rock routes. Here in use on the Sella Towers, Dolomites, Italy.
Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull – light enough and tough enough for tecjnical rock routes. Here in use on the Sella Towers, Dolomites, Italy.

 

What do I like about the Roc Lite Pull?

Firstly, I love the fact that (despite being well featured) it is also simple and uncluttered. No pit zips, no bulky storm flaps, no ridiculous number of pockets (it only has one) and no flappy elastic ready to take my eyes out in a storm. I also really like the face fabric, which is quite soft for a hardshell and doesn’t rustle too much.

For a climbing hardshell I always look for a simple and uncluttered silhouette and the Roc Lite fits the bill nicely. There is no restriction of movement whether I’m rock climbing, swinging an ice tool or running over the local moorland in the rain. I always look for a helmet compatible hood that gives good coverage, is easy to adjust and doesn’t restrict my vision and I would have to say that the Roc Lite Pull is as good as any I have used in that respect. The kangaroo style front pocket is very roomy but also sits flat when empty. I love the way I can fill it full of snacks whilst I’m on the move so I don’t have to keep getting them out of my pack, which can slow things down when running and climbing. It also easily swallows a full size map too.

The front zipper comes down half way offering as much ventilation as I need in a hardshell. If I need more then I’ll take it off! It also offers easy “on/off” access even over the bulkiest climbing or skiing helmets.

The lack of a full zip is particularly beneficial when wearing a climbing harness as it totally eliminates bulk around the waist area.

Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull - great weather protection for mountaineering. Works well with a climbing harness.
Haglöfs Roc Lite Pull – great weather protection for mountaineering. Works well with a climbing harness.

 

 

Any negatives?

The Roc Lite Pull is a brilliant jacket. The only minor niggle I had was with the velcro cuffs and that was because I struggled to get them to close snugly enough around my skinny wrists.

 

Conclusion

The Roc Lite Pull from Haglöfs is a high quality top end hardshell jacket. It is perfect for those who want to move quickly and unhindered in the mountains and who like top level weather protection with minimum fuss. The smock style is a great alternative to the numerous standard full zip shell jackets that are on the market and has particular benefit when wearing it under a climbing harness.

 

2 comments

  1. I am considering getting a Roc Lite to replace my Endo pull. How does the Pro shell fabric compare to the Active – is it noisier?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.